Blog Posts

My First Proper Blog Post

Hello to anyone who blundered in here!

I make documentaries. Not an awful lot of them as I only really want to make ones about subjects that matter to me. It’s not easy to get funding for these films so it might take a good couple of years or more to finish a project, especially if it’s not destined to be broadcast.

At the moment I’m trying to get funding for a follow-up documentary to my BBC film from 2004 called Detox or Die. I had so much great feedback related to that film that I felt the time was right to further investigate the strange psychedelic detox substance I used to get off methadone/heroin. Known as ibogaine, and in its raw form as iboga, the drug puts the user into a 36 hour gut-wrenching trip that often purges and cleanses soul, body and mind of the cravings and most of the terrible withdrawals associated with addiction.

I hope to finish this proposed feature documentary by the end of this year (2012). The working title is Iboga Nights and I’ll be seeking funding to complete the film from crowd-funding sources and various charitable bodies.

I’ll keep you posted on any updates as they happen.

That’s all for now and I’ll post again soon.

DGS x

8 thoughts on “My First Proper Blog Post

  1. DEAR MR SMITH,IM CURRENTLY ADDICTED TO MORPHINE,I WAS AN HEROIN ADDICT FOR 3YRS,THEN GOT PUT ON TO METHADONE WHILE ON METH I RELISED THE WITHDRAWAL WAS LONGER AND AS BAD AS SMACK SO I STARTED BUYING MST MORPHINE TABLETS,IVE BEEN TAKING THEM FOR PAST 7MNTH,I DONT GET HIGH OFF THEM AND ONLY TAKE TO HAVE SOME SORT OF NORMAL LIFE,I WORK 5 DAYS A WK AND IT HELPS THAT INSTEAD OF SPENDING 20 A DAY ON CPL BAGS I SPEND 15 AWK,I NEED TO QUIT THE MORPHINE AS I DONT GET ANYTHING OUT OF IT I TAKE SO IM NOT ILL FOR WKS,IM 25 AND FROM CUMBRIA SO THE ONLY TREATMENTS ARE METH.SUBOX AND THAT MEANS ANOTHER ADDICTION,I WAS FACINATED ABOUT YOUR DOCUMENTRY DETOX OR DIE AND THINK IT WOULD HELP BUT DONT NO HOW TO GO ABOUT IT,IF YOU COULD HELP IN ANYWAY I WOULD BE GRATEFULL AS I DONT NO WHAT ELSE I CAN DO THANKYOU WARREN

  2. hi David

    watching your detox or die film

    it’s so great and so true. love it

    hope you are well now and all the crap you had to cope with has fainted to oblivion

    ex-user from greece

  3. Thank you for sharing your story David. I’ve got a sis who is going for treatment soon and we very much hope it is a success. Godspeed on your journey.

  4. Just finished watching your film you made in 2004 on youtube! and it was outstanding a real look at what addiction is all about from every angle. I am pleased to hear that you are looking @ making a follow up I hope you have remained clean of drugs since the making of the film and I’m sure you have probably a silly question.

    I myself have never abused drugs but I feel watching films like yours and hearing ppls stories serves as a deterriotant for the public at large to stay away from em

Leave a Reply

